On Friday, 24 september, many cryptocurrencies have come under significant pressure. The trigger was a message from the Chinese central bank, which again criticized Bitcoin and Co.. According to the statement, distributed by the People's Bank of China, All Transactions, directly or indirectly related to cryptocurrencies, are declared illegal and subject to a complete ban. Foreign online services, which allow the Chinese to access digital currencies, were also declared banned.

Significant losses

Numerous cryptocurrencies, such as bitcoin, ether or dogcoin, after that, how this announcement was made public dropped significantly in value. The price of bitcoins flew from 45000 dollars to 42500 dollars. Ether, the second largest digital currency in terms of volume and value after bitcoin, suffered more, falling by about seven percent – to a little less 2900 dollars. Market size of all 12000 cryptocurrencies fell from 2,0 to 1,9 trillion dollars.

Focus on energy consumption

China's critical stance on private digital currencies is not new. People's Republic of China sees a problem in the high energy consumption of the so-called mining, that is, the process of digital production of cryptocurrency values.

But, despite China's critical arrows, Chinese leadership has long sought its own digital currency, state-controlled. The digital yuan is considered a well-advanced crypto product and is already undergoing "field trials".

В пятницу, 24 сентября, многие криптовалюты оказались под значительным давлением. Триггером послужило сообщение китайского центрального банка, в котором снова прозвучала критика Биткойна и Ко. Согласно заявлению, распространенному Народным банком Китая, все транзакции, непосредственно или опосредованно связанные с криптовалютами, объявляются незаконными и подлежат полному запрету. Иностранные онлайн-сервисы, которые позволяют китайцам получать доступ к цифровым валютам, также были объявлены запрещенными.

Значительные убытки

Многочисленные криптовалюты, такие как биткоин, эфир или догкоин, после того, как было обнародовано это объявление значительно упали в цене. Цена биткоинов слетела с 45000 долларов до 42500 долларов. Эфир, вторая по объемам и значению цифровая валюта после биткоина, пострадал сильнее, упав примерно на семь процентов — до чуть менее 2900 долларов. Объем рынка всех 12000 криптовалют упал с 2,0 до 1,9 триллиона долларов.

В центре внимания потребление энергии

Критическая позиция Китая в отношении частных цифровых валют не нова. Китайская Народная Республика видит проблему в высоком энергопотреблении так называемого майнинга, то есть процесса цифрового производства криптовалютных ценностей.

Однако, несмотря на испускаемые Китаем критические стрелы, китайское руководство давно стремится к собственной цифровой валюте, контролируемой государством. Цифровой юань считается хорошо продвинутым криптопродуктом и уже проходит «полевые испытания».